Hornbergstrasse 17, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Tel. ++41 (0)52 625 37 36 · info@musikhaus-winkelman.ch

Alain J. W. Winkelman alain.winkelman@gmail.com

Atelier für Querflöten und Traversflöten

  • Verkauf, Reparatur und Vermietung von Querflöten und Traversflöten
  • Herstellung von hochwertigen Kopfstücken und Mundplatten
  • Bau von barocken Traversflöten
  • Restaurierung von Originalinstrumenten aus der Zeit.
  • Beratungen, Expertisen

Curriculum

Ich wurde in Den Haag als Sohn eines holländischen Vaters und einer  französischen Mutter italienischer Abstammung in Den Haag geboren. Mit 14 Jahren zog die Familie nach Den Haag, wo ich meine Schulzeit beendete und dann bei Frans Vester Flöte am Konservatorium Den Haag studierte (Abschluss 1965). Anschliessend unterrichtete ich  und erhielt 1969 eine Anstellung am Rotterdamer Philharmonischen Orchester als Piccolist.

Mein Interesse am Flötenbau erwachte bereits als Jugendlicher, war ich doch in meinen jährlichen Sommerferien bei den Verwandten in Marseille ständiger Gast beim Flötenreparateur Gallarète. wo ich die ersten Kenntnisse über französische Polsterung erwarb. Bereits in Holland wurden Kollegen auf meine Fähigkeiten aufmerksam und ich begann, Flöten zu reparieren.

1972 zog ich in die Schweiz und wurde Lehrer an der Musikschule Winterthur. Ich begann, mich mit der historischen Traversflöte als Musiker zu beschäftigen und machte die ersten Versuche mit dem Bau dieser Instrumente, mit denen ich bald bekannt wurde. Daneben baute ich eine Reparaturwerkstatt für moderne Flöten auf, denen sich 1978 auch ein Verkaufsgeschäft anschloss.

Mein Interesse an der Flöte bringt mich immer wieder zu neuen Entwicklungen, sei es beim Bau von Kopfstücken, bei Verbesserungen an professionellen Flöten und bei der Konstruktion von individuellen Mundplatten.

Lokation

Mein Haus mit Atelier befindet sich in Schaffhausen an der Hornbergstrasse 17. Nach Ihrer vorgängigen Anmeldung reserviere ich gerne Zeit für Ihre individuelle Beratung und zum Ausprobieren der Instrumente - auch ausserhalb der üblichen Geschäftszeiten.

Hornbergstrasse 17, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Tel. ++41 (0)52 625 37 36 · info@musikhaus-winkelman.ch

Alain J. W. Winkelman alain.winkelman@gmail.com

Atelier for modern flutes and Traverso flutes

  • Sale, repair and leasing of modern flutes and baroque transverse flutes
  • Production of high end head joints and lip plates
  • Manufacturing of baroque transvers flutes
  • restorations of original instruments, also for museums and collectors
  • Consultancy and expertise

Curriculum

I was born in The Hague from a Dutch father and a French mother of Italian stock. The family moved to Brussels where I grew up until I was 14. Then my family moved back to the Hague where I finished school and studied flute with Frans Vester at the Hague conservatory. I started teaching and became a piccolist of the Rotterdams Philharmonic Orchestra in 1969.

My interest in flute making and repair was nourished when passed my annual holidays in Marseille with my mother’s family. I spend much of my time at the shop of the flute repairman Gallarète, with whom I learnt how to pad flutes in the French manner.

My colleagues soon began to appreciate my skills and I started repairing flutes besides my teaching and orchestra playing.

1972 I moved to Switzerland and became a teacher at the Winterthur music school and conservatory. I began to deal with baroque music and instruments and made my first experiments in building traverso flutes. I soon became known as a flute maker and repairman of flutes and 1978 I opened an official shop for flutes.

My enthusiasm for flutes helps me to find new improvements, as well for head-joints, as  for repair work on professional instruments and for the construction of individual  lip-plates on customer demands and needs.

Location

My home with workshop is located at Schaffhausen, Hornbergstrasse 17. I am happy to welcome you for an individual consultation with the possibility of trying instruments. Please announce your visit by phone or mail. It is also possible to make appointments out-of business hours.